Tracing the steps of my life as it crosses the bridge from all about me to all about Jesus.

Friday night Revelation

I have been spending a lot of time in the book of Roman’s this last week. Every book of the Bible is good but in my opinion Romans is in the top 3 of favorites for me. I went to bed Friday finally feeling better and hoping to get a good night sleep after the past few days of so much ear pain; I could not sleep. The Holy Spirit however, had other ideas. I knew He was beckoning me and I would like to make it out like I am amazingly spiritual but the truth is I did not make it to bed until after 5:45 in the morning and the last time I glanced at the clock it was 6am. I could have made it to bed hours earlier and probably fell asleep if I had not first argued with The Holy Spirit about how I was tired and didn’t feel like reading and praying for hours. Seriously I tossed and turned and whined for over 2 hours before getting up. (This isn’t important to the story other then to share my experience from learning the hard way. If GOD wants your attention its better just to do it rather then argue, you get more sleep that way) OK back to the point.

The first thing the Spirit said to me is “you want to talk about ears let’s talk about ears” I sat down at my desk and opened my Bible. I was impressed that I should read all four gospels from the point where Jesus asks his disciples who they say they He was. We all know of course that Peter answered “You are the Christ” to which Jesus responds “You will be the rock I build my church on” Depending on which gospel your in it is only verses later when Peter is telling Jesus he won’t let him be taken. Jesus responds “Get Behind me Satan” The first thing that The Spirit showed me was that Jesus knew who his enemy was. Jesus never even named Peter, he named Satan. Jesus knew the power of naming. He had declared Peter the rock and that was what Peter was, not what he was becoming, what he was! Also this over zealousness of Peter did not change the call on his life or position in The Kingdom. Satan was the problem here, not peter. Satan is the problem not me, or us.

Fast forward in the story and they are coming for Jesus. Peter gets all riled up and cuts off a soldier’s ear. This is where the big revelation came for me. The Holy Spirit showed me where the healing of the soldier’s ear was not just Jesus being a nice guy, going above and beyond, or just showing love. It was a physically prophetic sign of what would happen on the cross just days later. The evil one would stir people to make drastic, emotionally charged decisions, blood would be shed, and as He overcome not only would healing and covering of sin be accomplished there would be no remaining evidence of our sin. They come for Jesus

I believe the healing of the ear was more for Peter and for our example years later then just a chance to heal another person. I thought of how many times I feel my past come floating back into my mind. I know I am forgiven and it isn’t convicting it is just a downer. It makes me doubt if I have “grown” enough to step out and minister or speak words over people. Sometimes it makes me wonder if I am trustworthy, sometimes just plain unworthy. Why does that happen? It happens because I remember what I did or the situations I was in. Not only does Jesus not remember it there is no existing evidence; it never happened in GOD’s eyes. As I was thinking about this revelation, letting the truth The Holy Spirit had just spoken over my life sink in and contemplating the beauty of how big and amazing GOD is that His word never ends. There are always more levels to what Christ is doing. I just flipped to Acts and my eyes caught the passage where Peter and John are walking and run into a cripple (Acts 3:1-10) Peter simply says “Silver and Gold I don’t have but what I have I give to you, In the name Of Jesus Christ of Nazareth walk” Peter didn’t turn to John and say I think I can pray/impart to that guy but remember that one time I acted and cut that soldiers ear off? He could not say it because John would have looked at him and said “What ear?” There is no soldier in Rome missing an ear at your hand”

And that is what Christ would say to us. What sin, what situation. He would say to us. “When our sins are forgiven, we’re not just an “improved” versions of our old self–we’re a completely new person! We’re no longer bound to any of the guilt or shame that previously bound us; we are, spiritually speaking, a new creation. ” 2nd Corinthians 2:15, (MSG). He would say to all of us what it took me 4 hours to get on Friday night STOP FIGHTING A DEAD MAN. Know our enemy. Our enemy is the evil one who roams the earth looking for people to destroy. Our enemy is not ourselves or even each other. Our enemy isn’t even our sin. It is the one who deceives us into sin. Romans 6:6 states: We know that our old sinful selves were crucified with Christ so that sin might lose its power in our lives. We are no longer slaves to sin. (NLT)

I know this was long but I don’t know how to explain what I felt so deeply other then to share it in story form. Thank you for reading. I felt very strong I was to share it with everyone I could and the when Julie sent out the email asking me to let everyone know in more detail what I shared I felt I should throw it out there for everyone I know. I hope it is encouraging to all of us and I would love to hear your thoughts.

Leave a Reply

