Tracing the steps of my life as it crosses the bridge from all about me to all about Jesus.

Therefore when Jesus had received the sour wine, He said, “It is finished!” And He bowed His head and gave up His spirit.

 John 19:30 NASV.

Good Friday is a more reflective day.  My church does the stations of the cross and it is always a wonderful time of deep reflection.   It’s the day we mourn the death of our Savior.   After this long and reflective day we set about the business of waiting for Sunday.  Sunday is our day of celebration.  It is common to hear He is risen and conquered the grave.  Based on the word though Sunday wasn’t the day Jesus won His it was the day He died that “it is finished”

This got me thinking.   In my life as I walk the path of Jesus can I say “It is finished”  Have I died the complete death that allows Christ to fully take over my life?  My sins are forgiven, I have eternal life some days I even take those truths for granted but have I really died?  Have any of us?  Resurrection is glorious and worth celebration but as Paul says we are in Christ and therefore we get to share in His life, DEATH, and resurrection.

We  run the race well (life),  We are very fond of dreaming and longing for heaven and the victory over death (resurrection).  The important part. The part where Jesus declares His purpose has been accomplished in is death.

I remember the Bible story where Mary cannot find Jesus.  She searches all over and when she finally finds Him his reasoning for disappearing was he was about His fathers business.  I want to be about my Father’s business.   Today reminds us that being about our Father’s business includes dying to self.

Leave a Reply

