Tracing the steps of my life as it crosses the bridge from all about me to all about Jesus.

Surviving The Middle

Its 10:30pm.                                         

House to myself

Basketball on TV

Ice crackling in the glass of sweet tea I just poured.  A great end to a nice day off.

Today truly is one of the best days I have had in months.  I did a bunch of nothing.  I slept in very late,  did some laundry while wasting the day. Went to dinner with a friend, stopped by Target, chatted on the phone with another friend, came home and prayed and worshiped a bit and here I am at 10:30pm.

Nothing seemed so special about this day but it has just had a wonderful feeling.  As I plopped down on the couch it hit me.  NOTHING happened today. The last few weeks have been very, very stressful for me.  Even worse then life was when I was homeless, struggling, unemployed.   These last few weeks have been a painful pulling of great blessing and set-back.  Great groupon sales to a phone dying when I needed it most.  Finally having days full of appointments to having the car break down.   Having  a huge revelation from GOD and trusting Him 100% despite my doubts and un-surety in others involved to having those others not even grasp what I was talking about and rejecting it outright, without even praying or thinking though it.  (This one turned out amazing however,  What GOD did after to teach me about a new level of trust in Him that was not dependent on the reaction or decisions of others was astonishing, I am humbled.) Receiving the first checks from the groupon only to have problem after problem with my bank and access to my money.

Today however, there was no great blessing just a relaxing day.   There was also no big tragedy or situation that put me in a position to not follow though on things  I had said I would do, I just relaxed.

I am realizing I am thankful for days like this because I don’t think I do well in the middle.  Give me tough impossible situations and I will trust GOD though it.  I will do what I can and leave what I can’t in His hands.  Give me blessing after blessing and He gets all the credit and I am thankful beyond words.  Back and forth.  I just don’t do it well.  I pray that the enemy gives up and takes a break for a while.  I know I can outlast him but I like days like today.

Leave a Reply

