Tracing the steps of my life as it crosses the bridge from all about me to all about Jesus.

Hearing vs Experiencing

One of my favorite lines to a song goes like this “I don’t want to talk about You like Your not in the room, I want to look right at you.  Want to sing right to you.”

I don’t invite people to church or any other church activity for that matter.

I invite people to house church.

I have been struggling with why I have this deep desire to be able to explaine the difference.

The difference is:

house church we experience Christ, The Father, and The Holy Spirit.  At church we mostly just hear about them.

house church Christ is the head.  At church a man is the head.

house church it can be 30 min of 5 hours.   Church might go over like 15 min and then its sorry we kept you.

house church always gives me something to chew on (yet no one preaches).  Church is usually milk kind of stuff.

house church is a strongly connected community.  We walk and know each others victories, hurts, trials, rejoices.   Church is where I say Hi to people and pretend that aside from a few most of these people I have done life with for 10 years are not my friends.  They know very little about who I really am and I honestly know little about them.

The sad thing most people, when I invite them respond with something like I just don’t have room for one more thing.  This is the difference.  I can’t put it into words but house church isn’t just one more thing but Sunday morning sure is.   I am addicted to Sat night worship just like I am addicted to being with Jesus for some time everyday.

I don’t think that it is because it is house church it is this amazing thing.  I think it is all due to the attitude of the people involved and that we want more then anything to see and know Christ.  That we are willing to lay down our lives, our rights, or preconceived  ideas and notions about life and the world in order to know GOD’s.   It can be tough.  It can also be the most glorious thing.  I know so many of the ideas and views on the world I have now, I did not have even a few years ago.   Real experiences with Christ change things.  It changes how you see life, how you see and treat people, and how you see the gospel.

I do not write this as a put down of church.  For almost 7 1/2 years I have been praying into a vision The Holy Spirit showed me about my church and if anything that is what fuels my questions on why what GOD showed me and what happens at house church doesn’t happen on Sunday morning.

 

I h

Leave a Reply

