Tracing the steps of my life as it crosses the bridge from all about me to all about Jesus.

A petition created by a man inspired by the “It Get’s Better” video’s by columnist Dan Savage has made its way on to Change.org’s website and acquired 8,000 signatures in 9 days.    WHAT!?!?!?!?

I could get into the whole religious debate here but that is not where I want this to go or even the point I am want to make.

Putting aside the argument that pushing for Bert and Ernie to get married deflates the claim that being gay is the way someone is born vs a choice; because up until now they have not been gay.   I wonder why Bert and Ernie need to get married period?  Be it to a woman puppet they met while walking down Sesame Street to visit Big Bird or to each other.

Is the LGBT community saying friendship doesn’t matter?  Are they saying friendship, life long ones are not valuable and not possible?   Because that is what I am getting out of it.  Are they saying people, especially same sex people can’t possibly be only friends or roommate and that if they are, they are some kind of second class citizen that needs to be informed of their lack and then change.  But wait a minute, isn’t that the very kind of thing the LGBT community speaks out against  for their own people? I don’t know how many times I have heard about the  hurt and torture a person faces when society pressures them to  be or act in ways  contrary to who they are.  Yet here they are asking puppets to be like people and further more the kind of people they want them to be.

 Sesame Street’s response on their facebook page pretty much sums up how ridiculous  this who thing is.
                     “Bert and Ernie are best friends. They were created to teach preschoolers that people can be good friends with those who are
                       very different from themselves,” says the post. “Even though they are identified as male characters and possess many human
                       traits and characteristics (as most Sesame Street Muppets do), they remain puppets, and do not have a sexual orientation.”

A few years back there was a big religious push to avoid Sponge Bob Squarepants because of his homosexual tendencies, or something like that.  Honestly I don’t know the facts on that because it is stupid.  He is a cartoon.  This is no different.  These are puppets and dearly beloved ones at that. I never want them to get married.  I just want them to be puppets that entertain me, make me laugh, and continue to live in many happy memories of my childhood.

I wonder how this story will progress over the next few days.   I hope that Sesame Street don’t back down or change its stance.   Stay strong Bert and Ernie friendship is an awesome thing and shouldn’t be minimized  just to make a point on sexuality.

Leave a Reply

