Tracing the steps of my life as it crosses the bridge from all about me to all about Jesus.

The Mother Teresa of Cairo

Today I was reading about a woman named Mama Maggie Gobran.   Maggie Gobran is dubbed the Mother Teresa of Cairo and the founder of the Stephen’s Children charity a non profit that helps children that live in the poor areas of Cairo.  I learned that she has been nominated not once but three times for the Noble Peace Prize, yet has never won.  It makes my heart sad that a person like this is passed over but Obama won for doing nothing.  That rant is for a different time.  Today I am going to share some facts, nuggets and quotes I picked up across the web reading about her.             

*When God wanted to promote me, He sent me to the poorest of the poor.

*Everyone who carries the fragrance of eternity has to experience the dark valley of death.

*We are forgiven much but live so little.

*We build a church in the heart of every child we reach in a country where it’s not always possible to build a church.

When she accepts speaking engagements she starts with this and lets the meeting go where it may.  I read several accounts on her “speaking engagements” turning into deep silent soaking times for those in attendance.

“Silence your body to listen. Silence your tongue to listen to your thoughts.  Silence your thoughts to listen to your heart beating.

Silence your heart to listen to your spirit.  Silence your spirit to listen to His Spirit. In silence you leave many and be with the One.”

*If God has chosen me, believe me when I say I’m the least of any of you here

 

All of these touch me deeply but the last one really gets me.   Last year about this time Christ took me on a journey of discovering my value.  How wonderful, gifted, talented, loved, creative, anointed, blessed and adored by Him that I am.   It was and continues to be a hard thing to accept.  His words to me clear as day were Genesis 12:3.

I cried as I let people I cared about slip though my hands I was shocked that His comforting words were “their loss”   It is important  to note that while I hoped He would continue that by saying “And they will realize it and pay and you will be vindicated”  Instead He said free will is free will, you have missed me in the past and I waited and washed your path clean. Take my love and offer grace they don’t deserve.  I will give you 10 fold in friends you loose from these few.  He kept His promise.  Over the last year I have made at least some amazing, amazing friends that I hope will be deep friends the rest of my life. Several people went from acquaintance to friend and I am enjoying getting to know them better.  I feel so much more connected to most of the people at house church.

Before I thought being humble was never accepting complements.  I thought being humble was not being great because well, we must die to self.  Christ has taught me that true humility is being able to accept the complements while at the same time knowing He is the source.   Understanding that He doesn’t make 2nd best and therefore if I am in Him I am the best me ever created.

This year I feel Mama Maggies statement: If God has chosen me, believe me when I say I’m the least of any of you here.   I am the least.  I have no greatness of my own but in Christ I can do all things.  GOD has chosen me and I refuse to insult Him by continuing to believe that He in my isn’t greatness yet at the same time I also refuse to accept that I am any different from any other person out there.  GOD is no respecter of persons.

I feel this is a message for the body of Christ.   In the coming year I think He is going to be teaching us how to be great and humble at the same time.  He never told us to trade one.

http://www.stephenschildren.org/

 

 

Leave a Reply

