Tracing the steps of my life as it crosses the bridge from all about me to all about Jesus.

Today I overheard a mom and little girl talking about Jesus being born and then I read a blog about the Christmas story and it struck me.

I bet the day Jesus was born was one of the worst days of Mary’s life.   There were moments of joy,  but come on.                   

Very prego, on a donkey, no bed, animals and animal crap everywhere.  No pillow, only straw, dealing with the government for the census.  Any woman I know, including myself, even with a promise would be pissy that day.  Mary could not even send Joe out for  Haagen dazs!  I seriously don’t know how she didn’t break down.

Maybe she did.  Maybe she sobbed and sobbed in a defeated, hormonal, exhausted way into the arms of Joseph’s arms.

Then the moment.  Jesus is born, the promise is real.

OH the joy, oh the wonder,

OH THE MESS!   THE CRYING!   THE LACK OF SANITATION!   NO COMFORT!    MORE ANIMAL CRAP!  STILL NO HAAGEN DAZS!  I COULD GO ON…………

Promises are messy.  They are hard and we are human.  No wonder Lot’s wife looked back.  Could you just up and walk away from everything right now without looking back if GOD told you too?  I want to say YES at the top of my voice but the last few years have proven that walking away, even if it is for something better is hard to do.

Like Mary and Joseph we all have at least one promise.  There is something GOD wants to do in us or through us that will change the world.  What we don’t have is a promise that the road to our promise will be painless or easy.  One or more of the days to your promise is going to suck.

It might even be finally birthed the worst day of your life.

Leave a Reply

