Tracing the steps of my life as it crosses the bridge from all about me to all about Jesus.

Significance of the Deer

This moring as I saw a mother deer and her baby at a rest stop. She didn’t freak out and run and suprisingly let me get pretty close to grab this picture.

The Lord kept nudging me on the what my deer sighting meant. Finally I opened my Bible and looked up some stuff on-line and prayed about what GOD was saying to me via this deer. Here is what I learned.

The first reference to deer in the bible is in Gen. 49:21 in Jacob’s prophecy to his sons. About Naphtali he says, “He is a deer let loose, he gives goodly words.” Naphtali means ‘my wrestling’ signifying a struggle in Naphtali’s life yet the blessing bestowed on him promises a prevailing victory and freedom!

WOW! This word totally fits my life and my currently situation. There are struggles but I know victory and freedom are coming. I know this call is huge and I have wrestled with myself, life, and even GOD yet here I am at this place, just hours from a prophetic school where I hope to recieve some impartation and wisdom on what it means and looks like to be a voice to the nation for The Lord.

In Psalm 42:1 David says, “As the deer pants for the water brook, so pants my soul for You, O God.” I learned though my research that Deer tend to feed near water and if they are sick they will lie near water, knowing it is the most important thing they need. If forced to go without water for any length of time their thirst is intense and they will long for water, searching for it until they find it. I feel this way too, I long for The Living Water from the depths of my soul and if I don’t get it, I almost feel like I am dying. I must have Him.

I’ll leave you with the encouraging words of Psalm 18:33 (msg) Is there any god like God? Are we not at bedrock? Is not this the God who armed me, then aimed me in the right direction? Now I run like a deer; I’m king of the mountain.

Leave a Reply

