Tracing the steps of my life as it crosses the bridge from all about me to all about Jesus.

Compelled by love

 I’m bankrupt without love.  This is the last phrase in The Message translations of 1 Corinthians 13:3.  love-14

I have been thinking about love constantly this week. What is love?  It is Jesus.  Love is a person.  So when I leave love behind, I leave Jesus behind.  That’s a pretty big deal.

I live in a supernatural culture.  I work for a supernatural school.  My heart and passion are to see The Saints equipped for the work of service.  But the most important thing in my life is Jesus.  I am so in love with Him,  I am captivated,  I am compelled, I am overwhelmed.  I can’t imagine a day where He isn’t the focus.

Yet, Sometimes I have to check myself.  Some times I have to take a look in the mirror and say, “am I loving people?”  If 1 Corinthians 13 is true, and I believe it is.  Paul is sharing a huge revelation with us.  Our lives can look like Jesus is the focus when our gifts are flowing, but the reality is, that unless LOVE is the center of our lives, Jesus isn’t in the middle of it.

Last night I attended the premiere showing of a new film about Heidi Baker called Compelled By Love.  If you are not familiar with Heidi, she and her husband Rolland are founders of Iris Ministries.  The Baker’s have long been based in Mozambique and Heidi is known for declaring that it all started with a simple direction from The Lord, “Stop for the one”

I was rocked to the core by her love and compassion.  I don’t feel called in the way she does but I did get renewed in my calling.  I realized that I can teach a zillion prophecy classes, speak a million messages, see uncountable healings, help and serve in supernatural schools and ministries all over the world but if I really want to equip The Saints, I need love them and teach them how to love.

Leave a Reply

