Tracing the steps of my life as it crosses the bridge from all about me to all about Jesus.

The Return of Joy

At some point you just have to drive a stake into the ground.

So I did.

Looking in the mirror I realized I had lost my joy, I was tired or the things I was doing & not doing. I was tired of being frustrated. I was tired of sickness. I was tired of mourning death.

I was tired of being tired.

So I took steps to rediscover myself.  One of the first things I did was pick up a book.  A real book.  And read it.  AHHH!  The floods of joy were overwhelming.                   books

How could I have let life and the internet take away those times with a book.  I realized the only thing I had read in a little over a year was the Bible and even that was in survival mode, not for joy or for revelation.

This may seem like a silly thing to be the start of break through but GOD works in mysterious ways and a core value of  my life is that STORY MATTERS. So I will take it.

The picture is of all the books I am currently reading.  What are you reading?  What would you suggest I add to my pile?

Comments on: "The Return of Joy" (1)

  1. sammieanthamarie said:

    That is one of the reasons I decided to step away from Facebook and other social media for the summer (other than WP). I’m now finding more time for writing, working in my garden – and reading as well. At the moment, I’m just grabbing random things out of my bookshelf – and doing re-reads of some of my favorite series. Hope you continue to find joy! God Bless!

Leave a Reply

